National History Museum

Structure and Governance

The National Museum is a Declared Cultural Institution resorting under the National Department of Arts and Culture.

The National Museum was established in terms of section 3 of the Cultural Institutions Act, 1998 (Act No. 119 of 1998) and in terms of section 5 it is governed by a Council appointed by the Minister of Arts and Culture.

Council of the National Museum (2015-2018)

Back (from left): Mr Rick Nuttall (Director), Mr Sechaba Mohapi, Dr Leon Jacobson, Dr David Morris.  Front (from left): Mr George Kgarume, Ms Afrika Msimang (Vice-Chairperson), Dr Luvuyo Dondolo (Chairperson).  Inset: Ms Jill Ritchie, Ms Laura Robinson, Ms Angie Makwetla.